Thursday, 3 October 2013

All Time Low 'Don't Panic: It's Longer Now' Album Review

American pop-punk band All Time Low first formed in their hometown of Baltimore, Maryland ten years ago. From the release of their first studio album 'The Party Scene' back in 2005 all the way through to their latest musical endeavor 'Don't Panic,' they have slowly but surely taken the entire world by storm. With their main demographic being teenagers and young adults, their winning formula of extremely catchy choruses and angst-ridden lyrics strikes the perfect balance between pop and rock, blending the two genres together perfectly. 'Don't Panic: It's Longer Now' is a re-release of the bands aforementioned album which includes eight brand new tracks, four of which being acoustic versions of their most popular songs off of the album.

Upon first listen, it is clear that with six albums now firmly under their belt, All Time Low's repertoire has grown substantially and one track that highlights this in particular is 'Canals.' The songs introduction has an incredibly funky feel to it, however after mere seconds, lead vocalist Alex Gaskarth's instantly recognisable vocals kick in and bring the song to life. Another new edition to the album, 'Oh, Calamity!' is a slightly mellower track, yet this comes as refreshing change to an otherwise hard-hitting, fast paced album.

The bands current single, 'A Love Like War,' features front-man Vic Fuentes from fellow pop-punk band Pierce The Veil. With the songs powerful drumming and guitar riffs to the pairs seamless blend of vocals, the track is bound to be a sure fire hit amongst the bands devoted fan base.

1. The Reckless And The Brave
2. A Love Like War (feat. Vic Fuentes)
3. Backseat Serenade
4. Me Without You (All I Ever Wanted)
5. If These Sheets Were The States
6. Somewhere In Neverland
7. So Long, Soldier
8. Canals
9. The Irony Of Choking On A Lifesaver
10. To Live And Let Go
11. Outlines
12. Thanks To You
13. For Baltimore
14. Paint You Wings
15. So Long, And Thanks For All The Booze
16. Oh Calamity!
17. For Baltimore (Acoustic)
18. Somewhere In Neverland (Acoustic)
19. The Reckless And The Brave 
20. Backseat Serenade (Acoustic)

Ultimately, it is plain to see now that the band have returned to being managed by Hopeless Records, All Time Low are going from strength-to-strength and there is no sign of them slowing down any time soon!  

1 comment: