Wednesday, 25 September 2013

Twenty One Pilots 'Vessel' Album Review

Twenty One Pilots, a musical two-piece from Ohio, first formed back in 2009. However, they have only just made their way into the limelight. After finally gaining some recognition and being signed in 2012 by Fueled by Ramen, the same record label who manage the likes of rock giants Paramore and Fall Out Boy, the duo have gone from strength to strength. Now, two EP's later, Twenty One Pilots have released their first studio album, 'Vessel.'   

At first listen, it is clear that the band have a very distinctive and original sound. Lead singer Tyler Joseph's mixture of rap and alternative vocals with fellow band member Josh Dun's powerful drumming, the two are definitely a force to be reckoned with. The opening track of the album, Ode To Sleep, is the perfect track to set the tone for the rest of the album as it really showcases what the band are all about. The contrast between the rap and electronic elements of the album is definitely a refreshing change, as it constantly keeps the listener on their toes as Tyler switches between the two styles.

The second song on the record, 'Holding On For You,' is the bands most successful song to date and with it's incredibly catchy melody and lyrics, it's no wonder as to why. This is the duos current single in the UK and ever since they played the infamous Reading & Leeds Festival last month, the bands fan base this side of the pond has grown exponentially. Another firm favourite on the album is without a doubt 'Guns For Hands.' In a recent interview, front-man Tyler admitted that this song is very honest and is all about extremely common emotional issues such as depression and self harm, which are topics that affect so many adolescents and young adults. For a band to release such hard-hitting and honest material is such a breath of fresh air and this is just one of the many reasons why Twenty One Pilots are set for even more success in upcoming months.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

1. Ode To Sleep
2. Holding On To You 
3. Migraine
4. House Of Gold
5. Car Radio
6. Semi-Automatic 
7. Screen 
8. The Run And Go 
9. Fake You Out 
10. Guns For Hands
11. Trees
12. Truce

Overall, this album is riddled with many sure fire hits and after recently being nominated for several newcomer awards, it's plain to see that the band are definitely one to watch out for in the near future! Ultimately, if you have not done so already; go and pick up a copy of Vessel today!

No comments:

Post a Comment